life update + goals for next year

Dec 26th 2023

So back in april I got a seasonal job that ended last week, which means now I have a whole lot of free time again! And with the year coming to an end it’s the perfect time to take a look back at 2023 and a look forward to 2024. :)

Honestly it’s been a pretty good year for me. I did a lot of work on my website, joined a couple online communities, worked a job I liked, explored new hobbies, and I’ve been playing a lot of Baldur’s Gate III.

Christmas was okay, my dad had to work so my mom wanted to host celebrations, but then she didn’t do anything special so it just felt like an ordinary day. We still did our gift exchange though, which is good because I give the best gifts hehe, and my dad made a tasty roast beef~ I was going to make cookies too, but we already had cookies our neighbor baked for us plus some banana bread cookies I made a few days prior. So I’ll just have to make my renowned apple cinnamon oatmeal cookies for New Year’s.

Usually my New Year’s goals involve a lot of art goals, but I think that puts too much pressure on me to create. Instead I think it would be better to focus on my physical and mental health and let my creative energy flow naturally as a result. So my main goals for next year are: get a job, get a car, get in shape, and get some friends.

I’m also hoping that I can move somewhere new next year, but that all depends on the job and car goals. That’s why in the meantime I want to live healthier and make new friends so I can at least be happier about where I am now. I’ve already signed up for a fitness program that starts next week where I’m sure I’ll meet a lot of people who also have fitness New Year’s resolutions, so hopefully I’ll achieve two goals in one swoop! I’m also thinking of downloading Bumble BFF to help me meet potential new IRL friends (so if anyone has any experience with the app, lemme know what you think!).

To wrap everything up, here’s some doodles I drew at work over the past year:

Cheers to a happy new year!

tags: personal